The Technologies for African Agricultural Transformation (TAAT) program is funded by the African Development Bank (AfDB) and other agencies. TAAT is comprised of 15 compacts; one of those compacts relates to aquaculture and is led by WorldFish.

Ten countries were selected for the TAAT Aquaculture Compact (TAC): the Democratic Republic of Congo, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria and Zambia as focal countries; and the Republic of Benin, Burundi, Cameroon, Cote dIvoire and Tanzania as satellite countries. TAC aims to reach out to 1.15 million aquaculture value chain actors in these 10 countries within three years. This will include disseminating and upscaling aquaculture technologies across Africa to increase the productivity and income of fish farmers, increase fish protein consumption and enhance sustainability across the aquaculture value chain.

Specific objectives of the aquaculture compact are to

  • create an enabling environment for aquaculture technology adoption by the value chain actors;
  • facilitate effective delivery of technologies to fish farmers and other actors along the aquaculture value chain;
  • increase aquaculture production and productivity by identifying and disseminating quality tilapia and catfish seed and producing low-cost fish feed as well as through value addition.

TAC through identified regional activities across selected countries will ensure that

  • Eighty percent of fish farmers have access to improved fish seeds;
  • Twenty percent increase in aquaculture production;
  • Ten to thirty percent reduction in the importation of fish, improved household nutrition, and new employment opportunities for youth in the aquaculture value chain.